2021 Local Government Election

Saturday 4 September 2021

The next election for the Ballina Shire Council will be held on Saturday 4 September 2021.

Local government elections in NSW are held every 4 years. Due to the 2020 election being postponed by a year, the current Council will serve for a 5-year term and the new Council that is elected at the 2021 election will serve for a 3-year term.

NSW Electoral Commission manages the Local Government election for Ballina Shire Council.

For further information and key election dates visit elections.nsw.gov.au  

If you would like to know more about becoming a councillor subscribe to our email list and we will advise you of upcoming information sessions.

If you're a resident in the Ballina Shire local government area you can check your enrolment details are up to date with the Australian Electoral Commission. You must enter your details exactly as they appear on the electoral roll. Ballina Shire does not hold electoral information for local residents.

If you're not a resident, you may be entitled to vote if you own, occupy or lease property in Ballina Shire as a corporation, business or individual. Deadline to register as a non-resident is Monday 28 June 2021. To register as a non-resident of Ballina Shire please provide your details below:
At election time, we use the register to produce electoral rolls of non-residents. The NSW Electoral Commission verifies these rolls to ensure individuals on it are entitled to vote. The commission then includes them on the authorised roll of residents and non-residents to be used for that election.

Connect with us

Postal Address

The General Manager
Ballina Shire Council
PO Box 450
Ballina NSW 2478

View more contacts

40 Cherry Street
Ballina NSW 2478


Opening Hours

8:15am - 4:30pm

Monday to Friday