Ballina Shire Council manages five active cemeteries and one historical cemetery.

East Ballina Cemetery

The East Ballina Cemetery is the largest cemetery in the shire, a traditional monumental cemetery overlooking the ocean in many parts.

The East Ballina Cemetery includes general burials, lawn burials and niche walls (including the Anzac Walls). 

Alstonville Cemetery

The Alstonville Cemetery is the second largest cemetery in Ballina Shire. 

Alstonville Cemetery includes niche walls, memorial gardens, lawn burials and general burials. 

Wardell Cemetery

The Wardell Cemetery is close to scrubland and is regarded as a bush cemetery and includes many unmarked gravesites. The Wardell Cemetery also honours a large Bunjum burial section.

Wardell Cemetery provides general burials and a niche wall. 

Rous Cemetery

The Rous Cemetery borders on a rainforest and provides rural vistas.

Rous Cemetery only caters for general burials. 

Tintenbar Cemetery

The Tintenbar Cemetery is the smallest cemetery in Ballina Shire and provides for general burials only. 

The Pioneer Memorial Cemetery

The Pioneer Memorial Cemetery is an historical cemetery near Missingham Bridge in East Ballina. This is not an active cemetery and was declared a Rest Park by Act of Parliament in 1957.

A book containing the names of every person buried in the cemetery is kept at the Richmond Tweed Regional Library.


Our Cemetery Officer can assist with your cemetery enquiry and also take you through the process to honour your loved one, from making a reservation to ordering monuments and plaques.

Contact: Cemetery Officer, Ph 02 6686 1411


Connect with us

Postal Address

The General Manager
Ballina Shire Council
PO Box 450
Ballina NSW 2478

View more contacts

40 Cherry Street
Ballina NSW 2478


Opening Hours

8:15am - 4:30pm

Monday to Friday