Council committees

Standing committees

Council has three Standing Committees:

  • Commercial Services Committee introduces, evaluates and reviews commercial dealings and operations of Council, with the aim of providing supplementary revenue to assist Council in its service delivery to the community.
  • Environmental and Sustainability Committee considers strategic and regulatory land use and planning matters.
  • Finance and Facilities Committee considers financial matters of a strategic nature including Council's annual budget deliberations and to provide strategic input into the facilitation and construction of major community facilities.

The above Committees have no delegated authority and minutes are confirmed by the elected Council.

Reference groups

Council's one Reference Group involves community participation:

  • Access Reference Group identifies major access needs for various disability groups and makes recommendations to Council to resolve identified issues in priority order. 

Ward committees

Ballina Shire is divided into three Wards (view the Ward boundary map). Each Ward is represented by a Ward Committee which provides Council with feedback and policy advice on matters referred to them by Council and/or raised by members. Ward committees have no delegated authority.

Ward Committee membership is open to not-for-profit community groups, with eligible groups having one representative on a committee. Groups can apply for representation (form below). Applications are considered at the next Ordinary Council meeting.

Ward Committee Application Form

A Ward Committee

meets on odd numbered months on the 2nd Tuesday of the month at 4.00 pm at the Council Chambers or via Zoom

  • Tuesday 10 May 2022
  • Tuesday 12 July 2022
  • Tuesday 13 September 2022
  • Tuesday 8 November 2022

B Ward Committee

meets on odd numbered months on the 3rd Monday of the month at 4.30 pm at the Council Chambers or via Zoom

  • Monday 16 May 2022
  • Monday 18 July 2022
  • Monday 19 September 2022
  • Monday 21November 2022

C Ward Committee

meets on odd numbered months on the 2nd Thursday of the month at 5.00 pm at Crawford House, Alstonville, however since Covid, these meetings have been held at the Council Chambers or via Zoom

  • Thursday 12 May 2022
  • Thursday 14 July 2022
  • Thursday 8 September 2022
  • Thursday 10 November 2022

Other committees

  • Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee provides information to Council for the purpose of improving the Council’s performance of its functions. The Committee aims to keep under review Council operations, such as compliance, risk management, fraud control, financial management and governance. The Committee also reviews the implementation of the strategic plan, delivery program and strategies including service reviews, collection of performance measurement data by council and any other matters prescribed by the
    regulations. The Committee consists of two councillors and four community representatives. Staff attend meetings as required.
  • Local Traffic Committee is a requirement of Council’s statutory obligations as delegated by the Roads and Maritime Services in respect to the Roads Act 1993. The role of the Committee is to consider the technical aspects of any proposal and make recommendations to the Council. Membership includes Council's Civil Services Division, Roads & Maritime Services, NSW Police and the local State Member. Meetings are held 10am on the second Wednesday of every second month (dependent on sufficient agenda items). 
  • Public Art Advisory Committee provides guidance on the implementation of the Council’s Public Art Policy. Membership includes of three councillors.
  • Waterways Advisory Group - it's primary objective is to pursue the restoration of the waterways within the Ballina Shire to a healthy state, while supporting social and economic benefits that a healthy and diverse waterway system can bring to our community. Membership includes the Mayor, two councillors, representatives from the Ballina Chamber of Commerce, Ballina Fishermen's Co-operative, the Department of Planning Industry and Environment - Crown Lands and Fisheries, Transport for NSW - Maritime, Ozfish and community representatives. 

Delegates to other organisations and Rous County Council

  • Alstonville/Wollongbar Chamber of Commerce (or similar organisation) Three C Ward Councillors and the Mayor
  • Ballina and District Chamber of Commerce Three A Ward Councillors, the Mayor and Cr Jeff Johnson.
  • Ballina Naval Museum Jeff Johnson and Cr Stephen McCarthy.
  • Cape Byron Marine Park (Auhority) Advisory Committee (when nominations are called by the Committee): Cr Simon Chate.
  • Country Mayors' Association: Mayor and General Manager.
  • Northern Region Planning Panel : Cr Sharon Cadwallader (Mayor), Cr Stephen McCarthy with Cr Jeff Johnson and Cr Eva Ramsey as alternate delegates 
  • Lennox Head Chamber of Commerce Three B Ward Councillors and the Mayor.
  • NRJO (Northern Rivers Joint Organisation) Sharon Cadwallader, Mayor.
  • Richmond-Tweed Regional Library Committee Cr Rod Bruem and Cr Simon Chate, with Cr Nigel Buchanan as alternate delegate.
  • Rural Fire Service Management Committee: Cr Kiri Dicker with Cr Eva Ramsey as alternate delegate.
  • Rous County Council Cr Sharon Cadwallader and Cr Rod Bruem. This is for the full Council term ending September 2024.

Connect with us

Postal Address

The General Manager
Ballina Shire Council
PO Box 450
Ballina NSW 2478

View more contacts

40 Cherry Street
Ballina NSW 2478


Opening Hours

8:15am - 4:30pm

Monday to Friday