MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL HELD IN THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL CHAMBERS 40 CHERRY STREET BALLINA, ON 22/12/14 AT 4.00 PM

Attendance

Crs David Wright (Mayor - in the chair), Keith Johnson, Paul Worth and Robyn Hordern.

Paul Hickey (General Manager), Steve Barnier (Strategic and Community Facilities Group Manager), Caroline Klose (Corporate Communications and Tourism Co-ordinator) and Sandra Bailey (Secretary) were in attendance.

There were no people in the gallery at this time.

1. Apologies

Apologies were received from Crs Jeff Johnson, Susan Meehan and Ken Johnston.

Adjournment

In accordance with Section 233 of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2005, the Mayor declared the meeting adjourned at 4.31 pm on Monday 22 December 2014, due to the lack of a quorum, with the meeting to be resumed on Tuesday 13 January 2015 at 4.00 pm.

Councillors Sharon Cadwallader, Keith Williams and Ben Smith were not available to attend the meeting, which with the three apologies resulted in the lack of a quorum.

The meeting resumed at 4.00 pm on Tuesday 13 January 2015.

Attendance

Crs David Wright (Mayor - in the chair), Keith Johnson, Susan Meehan, Paul Worth, Robyn Hordern and Ben Smith.

Paul Hickey (General Manager), Steve Barnier (Strategic and Community Facilities Group Manager), Matt Wood (Acting Strategic and Community Facilities Group Manager), Holly Archibald (Events and Grants Support Officer), John Truman (Civil Services Group Manager) and Sandra Bailey (Secretary) were in attendance.

There were no people in the gallery at this time.

..... MAYOR

MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL HELD IN THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL CHAMBERS 40 CHERRY STREET BALLINA, ON 22/12/14 AT 4.00 PM

Apologies

Apologies were received from Crs Jeff Johnson, Sharon Cadwallader, Keith Williams and Ken Johnston.

221214/1 RESOLVED

(Cr Ben Smith/Cr Robyn Hordern)

That such apologies be accepted. FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously. ABSENT. DID NOT VOTE - Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Sharon Cadwallader, Cr Keith Williams and Cr Ken Johnston

Declarations of Interest

Nil

4. General Manager's Group Reports

4.1 Australia Day Nominations

221214/2 RESOLVED

(Cr Robyn Hordern/Cr Ben Smith)

- 1. That Council provides delegated authority to an Australia Day Committee consisting of all Councillors present to determine the award recipients for Australia Day.
- 2. The meeting of the Australia Day Committee to determine the award recipients for 2015 is to be held immediately following the closure of this meeting in the Council Committee Room.
- 3. The procedure for determining the preferred recipients will be by show of hands consistent with Council's Code of Meeting Practice with the General Manager to record minutes of the Australia Day Committee meeting.
- 4. The Award recipients are to remain confidential until Australia day 2015.

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously. ABSENT. DID NOT VOTE - Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Sharon Cadwallader, Cr Keith Williams and Cr Ken Johnston

MEETING CLOSURE

4.01 pm

The Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting held on 22/12/14 were submitted for confirmation by council on 22 January 2015 and amendments (if any) are contained in the confirming resolution. Such Minutes were signed by the Mayor at the meeting on 22 January 2015.

..... MAYOR