MINUTES OF THE RESERVE TRUST MANAGER MEETING OF THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL HELD IN THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL CHAMBERS 40 CHERRY STREET, BALLINA, ON 27/04/17 AT 12.06 PM

<u>Attendance</u>

Crs David Wright (Mayor - in the chair), Phillip Meehan, Sharon Parry, Jeff Johnson, Eoin Johnston, Stephen McCarthy, Nathan Willis, Keith Williams, Sharon Cadwallader and Ben Smith.

Paul Hickey (General Manager), John Truman (Group Manager Civil Services), Rod Willis (Group Manager Development and Environmental Health), Matthew Wood (Acting Group Manager Strategic and Community Facilities) and Sandra Bailey (Secretary) were in attendance.

There were four people in the gallery at this time.

1. Apologies

Nil

2. Declarations of Interest

Nil

3. Deputations

• Steve Gerrish, Jensons Solicitors – spoke in favour of Item 4.2 – Rescission Motion - Missingham Markets.

5. Notices of Motion

5.1 Rescission Motion - Missingham Markets

A **Motion** was moved by Cr Sharon Cadwallader and seconded by Cr Sharon Parry

That point three of Resolution RT230217/2, as follows, be rescinded:

3. That no market activities or stalls, aside from those authorised under points 1 and 2 and where food or produce is to be sold as part of an approved event or festival, be authorised in the Missingham Park and Commemoration Park locality for a period of three years or the Ballina Farmers Market ceases to operate on the land.

The Motion was LOST.

FOR VOTE - Cr Sharon Parry, Cr Eoin Johnston and Cr Sharon Cadwallader AGAINST VOTE - Cr David Wright, Cr Phillip Meehan, Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Stephen McCarthy, Cr Nathan Willis, Cr Keith Williams and Cr Ben Smith

MINUTES OF THE RESERVE TRUST MANAGER MEETING OF THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL HELD IN THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL CHAMBERS 40 CHERRY STREET, BALLINA, ON 27/04/17 AT 12 NOON

4. Committee Reports

4.1 Captain Cook Memorial Park Masterplan - Access Road

A Motion was moved by Cr Ben Smith and seconded by Cr Nathan Willis

- 1. That Council, as the Richmond River Reserve Trust Manager, approves an amendment to the Captain Cook Memorial Park Master Plan to delete the proposed one way access from River Street to Moon Street and replace it with a two way access with no connection to River Street, as per the design attached to this report and as recommended by the Ballina Traffic Committee.
- 2. That the amended design also maximise pedestrian access from River Street to the cul-de-sac.

An **Amendment** was moved by Cr Phillip Meehan and seconded by Cr Jeff Johnson

That Council receive a report on the vehicle access along the rear of the shops being removed, with a turning circle being created closer to Fawcett Lane and that the gravel area currently being used at the rear of the shops for parking, be utilised as parkland.

The Amendment was LOST.

FOR VOTE - Cr Phillip Meehan, Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Nathan Willis and Cr Keith Williams

AGAINST VOTE - Cr David Wright, Cr Sharon Parry, Cr Eoin Johnston, Cr Stephen McCarthy, Cr Sharon Cadwallader and Cr Ben Smith

The Motion was CARRIED.

FOR VOTE - Cr David Wright, Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Eoin Johnston, Cr Nathan Willis, Cr Keith Williams, Cr Sharon Cadwallader and Cr Ben Smith AGAINST VOTE - Cr Phillip Meehan, Cr Sharon Parry and Cr Stephen McCarthy

RT270417/1 RESOLVED

(Cr Ben Smith/Cr Nathan Willis)

- 1. That Council, as the Richmond River Reserve Trust Manager, approves an amendment to the Captain Cook Memorial Park Master Plan to delete the proposed one way access from River Street to Moon Street and replace it with a two way access with no connection to River Street, as per the design attached to this report and as recommended by the Ballina Traffic Committee.
- 2. That the amended design also maximise pedestrian access from River Street to the cul-de-sac.

MINUTES OF THE RESERVE TRUST MANAGER MEETING OF THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL HELD IN THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL CHAMBERS 40 CHERRY STREET, BALLINA, ON 27/04/17 AT 12.06 PM

FOR VOTE - Cr David Wright, Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Eoin Johnston, Cr Nathan Willis, Cr Keith Williams, Cr Sharon Cadwallader and Cr Ben Smith AGAINST VOTE - Cr Phillip Meehan, Cr Sharon Parry and Cr Stephen McCarthy

MEETING CLOSURE

1.02 PM