Shires Association of NSW



Annual Conference 2011 Modernisation – It's our Time

Draft Program as of 8 April 2011

This is subject to change as speakers confirm their availability or otherwise. Starting and finishing times for each day will not change. State Parliament is not sitting at this time.

Grand Ballroom, Sofitel Wentworth Sydney

Monday 30 May 2011

3.00pm	Registration opens
5.30pm	President's Welcome Reception sponsored by Sydney Morning Herald
6.00pm	President's Welcome: Cr Bruce Miller, Shires Association of NSW
6.05pm	Sponsors address
7.00pm	Close of evening

Tuesday 31 May 2011

racounty c.	
8.15am 8.30am	Trade Exhibition opens Ballot for election of President opens
8.50am	Delegates seated
9.00am	Official Opening Ceremony - procession of official party to the stage
9.05am	National Anthem Welcome to Country - Mr Glen Doyle
9.10am	Official Opening of the Conference by Premier of NSW, Hon Barry O'Farrell MP (Invited)
9.40am	President's address: Cr Bruce Miller, Shires Association of NSW
10.05am	Presentation of Outstanding Service Awards and Presentation of the AR Bluett Memorial Award
10.15am	Mr Graeme Philpotts, Chief Executive, Stewart House
10.30am	Morning Tea sponsored by Department of Environment, Climate Change and Water Partners Tour leaves hotel for the Sydney Seafood School cooking class and lunch
10,50am	Adoption of Standing Orders Treasurer's report, consideration of procedural, constitutional and Association matters followed by motions
11.30am	Hon Michael Gallacher MLC, Minister for Police and Emergency Services and Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons, Rural Fire Service (Invited)
11.45am	Ballot for election of President closes
12.00pm 12.30pm	Consideration of Motions (Rural Emergency and related motions) 'Towards One Association' – Cr Bruce Miller
1.00pm	Lunch Ballot for election of Executive Committee opens

1.45pm Essential Energy (to be confirmed) - an update on future of company after sale. Partners Tour returns Consideration of Motions 2.00pm Afternoon Tea sponsored by 2.45pm 3.00pm Ballot for election of Executive Committee closes Adam Spencer facilitates "How do we improve the image of local government?" with Russel Howcroft, Chairman and Managing Director, George Patterson Y& R, and Silmon Reynolds, Chairman and Co-founder OMG 4.30pm Conference Day 1 adjourns Happy hour 5.30pm Happy hour concludes 7.30pm Conference dinner sponsored by Essential Energy Wednesday 1 June 2011 8.30am Trade Exhibition opens Nominations for election of Vice Presidents and Treasurer opens 9.00am Minister for Primary Industries, Hon Katrina Hodgkinson MP (Invited) Partner tours E. G. Waterhouse National Camellia Gardens and Hazelhurst Gallery, Sutherland 9.30am Hon Craig Knowles, Chairman, Murray Darling Basin 10.00am Hon Donald Page MP, Minister for Local Government (Invited) Nomination for election of Vice Presidents and Treasurer closes. 10.15am Ballot for election of Vice Presidents opens 10.30am Morning Tea sponsored by Department of Environment, Climate Change and Water 11.00am Hon Duncan Gay MLC, Minister for Roads (Invited) Ballot for election of Vice Presidents closes 11.30am Mr Mike Quigley, CEO, NBN Broadband (invited) Ballot for election of Treasurer opens 12.00noon Mr Bob Crawshaw, Managing Director, Maine Street Marketing, 'Role of Modernisation in Social Media' 12.30pm Lunch Cr Genia McCaffery, President, ALGA and Professor George Williams, 'Constitutional Recognition 1.30pm 2.00pm Consideration of Motions Ballot for election of Treasurer closes 3.15pm Partners Tour returns Conference Closes 4.00pm

> Elite Sponsor: Essential Energy www.shiresconference.lgsa.org.au

Afternoon Tea







