

Shires Association of NSW

Annual Conference 2012 Keeping the Local in Local Government

Draft Program as of 2 March 2012

This is subject to change as speakers confirm their availability or otherwise. Starting and finishing times for each day will not change.

Grand Ballroom, Sofitel Wentworth Sydney

Monday 4 June 2012

Registration opens
President's Welcome Reception sponsored by Sydney Morning Herald
President's Welcome: Cr Ray Donald, Shires Association of NSW
Sponsor Address (5 minutes)
Close of evening

Tuesday 5 June 2012		
8.15am	Trade Exhibition opens	
8.50am	Delegates seated	
9.00am	Official Opening Ceremony - procession of official party to the stage	
9.05am	National Anthem	
	Welcome to Country – Mr Glen Doyle	
9.10am	Welcome from Cr Clover Moore MP, Mayor, City of Sydney (invited)	
9.20am	President's Address: Cr Ray Donald, President, Shires Association of NSW	
9.50am	Welcome Address by Premier of NSW, Hon Barry O'Farrell MP (invited)	
10.20am	Presentation of the AR Bluctt Memorial Award by Bluett Trustees and the Outstanding Service Awards	
10.00am	Partners tours leaves from foyer Sofitel Wentworth Hotel	
10.30am	Morning Tea	
10.50am	Hon Donald Page MP, Minister for Local Government	
11.20am	Adoption of Standing Orders Treasurer's Report Consideration of procedural, constitutional and Association matters followed by motions	
11.30am	Consideration of Motions	
12.50pm	Mr Bill Bristow, Founder Angel Flight (invited)	
1.00pm	Lunch	
1.45pm	Essential Energy update on business	

10.3 Councillor Attendance.DOC

2.00pm	Update on One Association followed by Consideration of Motions	
3.00pm	Afternoon Tea	
3.30pm	Hon Craig Knowles, Chairman, Murray Darling Basin Authority Presentation and Discussion	
	Partners Tour returns to Sofitel Wentworth Hotel	
4.30pm	Conference Day One adjourns Happy Hour with conference sponsors in Trade Exhibition	
5.30pm	Happy Hour concludes	
7.30pm	Conference dinner sponsored by Essential Energy	
Wednesday 6 June 2012		
8.30am	Trade Exhibition opens	
9.00am	Mr John Robertson, Leader of the Opposition Leader	
9.30am	"Where does Local Government fit into your portfolio?" A Ministerial Panel with Julie McCrossin as Facilitator:	
	Hon Katrina Hodgkinson MP, Minister for Primary Industries (invited) Hon Brad Hazzard MP, Minister for Pianning Hon Richard Torbay MP, Member for Northern Tablelands (invited) Hon Sophie Cotsis, Shadow Minister for Local Government MLC	
10.30am	Morning Tea	
11.00am	Consideration of Motions	
12 noon	Update on 2036 Project	
12.naon	Partners Tour Pickup from Foyer of Sofitel Wentworth Hotel to The Lyric Theatre	
12.30pm	Lunch	
1.30pm	Keynote Address Speaker: Malcolm Turnbull - Keeping the Local in Local Government (invited)	
2.30pm	Discussion of the Transport Master Plan with Address from Hon Gladys Berejiklian MP, Minister for Transport and Hon Duncan Gay MP, Minister for Roads and Ports (invited)	
3.30pm	Conference Closes Afternoon Tea	
4.00pm	Partners Tour returns from The Lyric Theatre	