#### Sandra Bailey

From:
Sent:
To:
Subject:
Attachments:

Sandra Bailey Friday, 19 July 2013 8:40 AM Sandra Bailey FW: Cumbalum East Community Precinct Steering Committee CUMBALUM EAST COMMUNITY PRECINCT STEERING COMMITTEE.docx; CE Minutes of 14-6-2013.docx

From: <u>greg.unwin@bigpond.com</u> [mailto:<u>greg.unwin@bigpond.com</u>] Sent: Thursday, 27 June 2013 12:37 PM To: Ballina Shire Council Subject: Cumbalum East Community Precinct Steering Committee

Dear Mr.Hickey

At a well attended public meeting on the 2nd June 2013 Ballina Heights & Summerhill residences established a "Cumbatum East Community Precinct Steering Committee" to represent thee area. The initial Committee comprises 5 members of Ward "B" and one from Ward "A". As committee chairman I am writing to you to for approval for one of our members to join Ward "B" and "A" meetings.

1

The minutes from our first Committee meeting and our Objectives, Role & Responsibilities are attached.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kindest Regards

Dr. Greg Unwin for Cumbalum East Community Precinct Steering Committee 0488-54155 02-66815377

## CUMBALUM EAST INTERIM PRECINCT STEERING COMMITTEE

## MINUTES OF MEETING HELD ON 14<sup>TH</sup> JUNE 2013

<u>Present</u>: - Norman Leifermann, Dave Robinson, Prue Coady, Leiki Hartel, David Humphrey and Greg Unwin.

Apology: - Maree Fisher

Meeting commenced at 7.35pm

Salient points arising from our first committee meeting were:-

- Committee members gave a brief overview of their skills which covered in part radio control, people refugee management, accountancy, school office management, legal profession, physiotherapy, environmental management and public administration.
- The Committee's objective, role & responsibilities were discussed and a second draft document outlines the views of the meeting.
- Committee members agreed that Prue Coady, Leiki Hartel, Dave Robinson, David Humphrey & Greg Unwin should door knock residences in their allocated areas and explain the Committee's objective, role & responsibilities & try and encourage residences to give their e-mail address for circulation of communications. A second committee meeting will be called to finalise the e-mail data base & discuss issues & communication.
- Committee members also discussed issues which need to be addressed & it was clear that road access from Tamarind Drive was a priority.
- It was agreed that representation on Ballina Council Ward B Committee was essential. The Committee will need to write to the General Manager of Council in order to become a formal member of the Ward B Committee.

Meeting Closed 8.10pm.

Greg Unwin Minute Secretary

# 10.3 Ward Committees - Membership.DOC

#### CUMBALUM EAST COMMUNITY PRECINCT STEERING COMMITTEE

(Cumbalum East refers to residences east of Tamarind Drive & is not a geographical place name)

### **OBJECTIVE**

The committee's objective is to respond to stakeholder issues, concerns and seek resolution.

#### ROLE

The committee's role is to put in place processes to resolve broad community issues with appropriate stakeholders in order to help protect & enhance Cumbalum East. (This committee will not deal with disputes between neighbours or an individual dispute with a major stakeholder).

### RESPONSIBILITIES

The committee will be responsible for the following:-

- Raising issues with stakeholders e.g., road access to Cumbalum East & a possible community garden for our area.
- Facilitating issue outcomes.
- Stimulating discussion and
- The committee will be accountable for their actions

### DEFINITIONS

Stakeholders mean residences, Ballina Council, Developers & others.

Cumbalum East comprises all residence east of Tamarind Drive embracing Cumbalum & Summerhill.

### YOUR E-MAIL ADDRESS

We would like to keep you informed and having your e-mail address would help us communicate. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose. You can also send us your e-mail address by going into Google and typing in our email address <u>cumeastcommittee@gmail.com</u> Password steercom

\_\_\_\_\_

### YOUR INTERIM STEERING COMMITTEE COMPRISES:-

Dave Robinson, David Humphrey, Leiki Hartel, Prue Coady, Norman Leifermann, Greg Unwin and Maree Fisher.(This Committee was formed at the well-attended Public Meeting on 2<sup>nd</sup> June 2013)