MINUTES OF THE COMMERCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL HELD IN THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL CHAMBERS 40 CHERRY STREET, BALLINA, ON 5/08/24 AT 4:00 PM

<u>Attendance</u>

Crs Sharon Cadwallader (Mayor - in the chair), Kiri Dicker, Simon Chate (online), Eoin Johnston, Stephen McCarthy and Eva Ramsey.

Paul Hickey (General Manager), David Kelly (Acting Director - Civil Services Division), Matthew Wood (Director, Planning and Environmental Health Division), Caroline Klose (Director, Corporate and Community Division), Paul Tsikleas (Manager Commercial Services), Nikki Glassop (Acting PA to General Manager and Mayor) and Janelle Snellgrove (Executive Support Officer) were in attendance.

There was one person in the gallery at this time.

1. Acknowledgement of Country

The Mayor opened the meeting at 4.17pm and provided an Acknowledgement of Country.

2. Apologies

Apologies were received from Cr Phillip Meehan, Cr Rodney Bruem and Cr Jeff Johnson

RECOMMENDATION

(Cr Eoin Johnston/Cr Eva Ramsey)

That such apologies be accepted and leave of absence granted.

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously. ABSENT. DID NOT VOTE - Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Nigel Buchanan, Cr Phillip Meehan and Cr Rodney Bruem

3. Declarations of Interest

Nil

4. Deputations

Nil

MINUTES OF THE COMMERCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL HELD IN THE BALLINA SHIRE COUNCIL CHAMBERS 40 CHERRY STREET, BALLINA, ON 5/08/24 AT 4:00 PM

5. Committee Reports

5.1 <u>Crown Land - Acquisitions</u>

RECOMMENDATION

(Cr Eoin Johnston/Cr Eva Ramsey)

- 1. That Council notes the contents of this report and supports the rescission of the compulsory acquisitions of part Lighthouse Parade and Regatta Avenue, Ballina based on the Valuer General's valuations not reflecting the actual use of the land subject to the acquisition.
- 2. That Council approves the entering of deeds of agreement, with the Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure, if this is demonstrated to be a more cost-effective way to manage the Council infrastructure located on this Crown Land.

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously. ABSENT. DID NOT VOTE - Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Nigel Buchanan, Cr Phillip Meehan and Cr Rodney Bruem

5.2 Cherry Street Sports Group - Club Lennox Sports Leases - Update

RECOMMENDATION

(Cr Stephen McCarthy/Cr Simon Chate)

- 1. That Council notes that, as per the contents of this report, the planned capital expenditure program to support the rental rebate for the Ballina Bowling and Recreation Club (BBRC) Limited has not been met, as per the conditions of the leases for 2022/23 and 2023/24.
- 2. That Council confirms that it will not seek a rental rebate for 2022/23 and 2023/24, based on the expenditure commitment planned by the BBRC Limited for 2024/25, however if by the end of 2024/25, the cumulative expenditure is not above the agreed works program, Council will claim a rental rebate for the percentage under expended.
- 3. That Council authorises the General Manager to provide landowner's consent for a development application to undertake building works on premises located at 10 Stewart Street and part of King Street, Lennox Head, as detailed in this report.
- 4. That Council authorises an amendment to include major works to the Plan of Management for 10 Stewart Street, Lennox Head based on the BBRC Limited's proposed works program.

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously. ABSENT. DID NOT VOTE - Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Nigel Buchanan, Cr Phillip Meehan and Cr Rodney Bruem

5.3 Wollongbar Medium Density Housing Project - Community Consultation

RECOMMENDATION

(Cr Eoin Johnston/Cr Kiri Dicker)

That Council receive a further report on the Wollongbar Medium Density Housing Project that provides options to increase car parking numbers and to reduce the concentration of development by considering where proposed dwellings could be better placed on any of the 30 lots held by Council.

FOR VOTE - Cr Sharon Cadwallader, Cr Kiri Dicker, Cr Simon Chate, Cr Eoin Johnston and Cr Stephen McCarthy AGAINST VOTE - Cr Eva Ramsey ABSENT. DID NOT VOTE - Cr Jeff Johnson, Cr Nigel Buchanan, Cr Phillip Meehan and Cr Rodney Bruem

MEETING CLOSURE

The meeting was closed at 4.42pm.