Local Environmental Plan (LEP)

A Local Environmental Plan (LEP) is the primary legal planning document for guiding land use and planning decisions made by Council.

Ballina Local Environmental Plan 2012 (BLEP 2012) 

The Ballina Local Environmental Plan 2012 (BLEP 2012) commenced on 4 February 2013.  The BLEP 2012 can be accessed via the NSW Legislation website at legislation.nsw.gov.au.  The maps detailing land use zones, minimum lot sizes and other development standards specified by the BLEP 2012 can also be accessed via the NSW legislation website  by selecting the link to 'Maps' on the light blue banner near the top of the page:

Some land is identified on the BLEP 2012 maps as ‘deferred matter’ and generally comprises the land previously identified in the Draft Ballina Local Environmental Plan 2011 as E2 Environmental Conservation Zone or E3 Environmental Management Zone.  The deferral of these areas is a result of a decision by the Minister for Planning & Infrastructure to review the application of the E zones on the North Coast. 

At its Ordinary Meeting held in April 2017, Council resolved to retain all deferred areas that are subject to an environmental protection zone under the BLEP 1987 as deferred areas, having the effect that the BLEP 1987 will continue to apply.  All other deferred areas that are not subject to an environmental protection zone will be integrated into the BLEP 2012.  In accordance with the Council resolution, the criteria established by the NSW State Government’s Northern Councils E Zone Review will be applied to the areas that are to be integrated into the Ballina LEP 2012. 

Ballina Local Environmental Plan 1987 (BLEP 1987)

The BLEP 1987 continues to apply to land identified in BLEP 2012 as 'deferred matter'.  The BLEP 1987 is also accessed via the NSW Legislation website:

Connect with us

Postal Address

The General Manager
Ballina Shire Council
PO Box 450
Ballina NSW 2478

View more contacts

40 Cherry Street
Ballina NSW 2478


Opening Hours

8:15am - 4:30pm

Monday to Friday