

## *Nominations are now open for the 2021 Ballina Shire Australia Day Awards*

Do you know someone who makes a significant contribution to the Ballina Shire through their involvement in community-based activities, sport or the arts?

Now is the time to start thinking about nominations for the **2021 Ballina Shire Australia Day Awards**.

Ballina Shire Mayor, Cr David Wright said "each year we host the Australia Day Awards, and I'm always delighted to hear the stories of the nominated individuals and groups who make Ballina Shire such a positive and connected community."

"These people are often quiet achievers, but through their efforts and achievements they strengthen our community. They also help to promote and act as ambassadors for Ballina Shire."

"Even in these challenging times, people are going to extraordinary lengths to help others in need and overcome obstacles to pursue their passions."

There are seven categories for nomination to recognise positive contributions to our community, sports, environment and the arts.

**1.** Young Citizen (under 30 years of age) who make a significant contribution to Ballina Shire.

2. Senior Citizen (over 60 years of age) who make a significant contribution to Ballina Shire.

**3.** Volunteer of the Year for an individual who works tirelessly behind the scenes to support an organisation's activities.

**4. Sports Achievement** for a team or individual who has excelled and represented their chosen sport at a local, regional, state, national or international level. Nominations can also be sports administrators who have made a significant contribution to sport.

5. Arts and Culture Award for an individual who has made a significant contribution to the creative arts.

6. Community Event of the Year for an individual or group who has staged an outstanding community event during 2020.

7. Environmental Award for an individual or group contributing to our environmental preservation or advancing environmental awareness within the Ballina Shire.

The **Citizen of the Year** will be selected by the Australia Day Committee from all the nominees across the seven categories.

To nominate visit *ballina.nsw.gov.au/AustraliaDay* or contact the Council's communications team on 1300 864 444.

Nominations Close: Monday 30 November 2020.

## Last Year's Award Winners:

Citizen of the Year – Anne Thompson

Young Citizen of the Year (two awards) – Amelia Farrant and Zarah Knight

Senior Citizens of the Year – Barry and Janice Saxby

Volunteers of the Year – Alan and Jenny Tunks

Sports Award (two awards) – Hayley Oakes and Ben Roche

Arts and Culture Award – Sprung!! Integrated Dance Theatre

Community Event of the Year – Dragon Boat Regatta (Rainbow Region Dragon Boat Club)

Inaugural Environmental Award – Malcolm Milner

Media Spokesperson	Caroline Klose Manager Communications 1300 864 444
Authorised By	Kelly Brown Director, Corporate and Community
Distribution	Local media



**Australia Day 2020 pictured L-R:** Amelia Farrant and Zarah Knight (joint Young Citizens of the Year) with Liz Ellis (2020 Ballina Shire Australia Day Ambassador).